RSS

You know what really grinds my gears?

15 Jan

People who use the term “overpowered” and “nerf”. Yes I know I’m part of the problem by complaining about the complainers but this is my blog and I’ll cry if I want to.

First I want to let every one know that the term “nerf” should only be used to reference the toy company that produces plastic guns that shoot foam darts. I don’t know who decided that it was a term best suited to reference toning down weapons in CoD but I’m not a fan.

On a more important note, STOP SAYING THINGS ARE OVERPOWERED. Was that sentence a little overpowered for you? Seriously though, the word is being used way too much to describe anything and everything with regards to Call of Duty Black Ops. I mean it’s starting to make the MP40 complaints look like compliments.

Let’s take the AK-74u for example.

10 year old forum poster: “omg teh 74u iz soo overpwerd!”

A lot of people use the AK-74u, myself included. Some like to use it exclusively (not me). But thats the gun that works for them! If you pick up a gun and it works for you/you are winning with it, wouldn’t you want to use it all the time? Also, everyone paid the $60 or whatever for the game, shouldn’t they be able to use whatever gun makes them happy? I’m not saying I don’t get pissed sometimes, hell I complained many times about the MP40. But I’ve never seen such garbage flying around every CoD forum about “overpowered this” and “nerf that”

And that ladies and gents is what grinds my gears.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2011 in call of duty

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “You know what really grinds my gears?

  1. steveG

    January 15, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    seriously how could a gun be “overpowered” its a gun its suppose to kill lol

     
  2. kraken

    January 16, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    I agree and disagree with you here.

    In the CoD environment, I also find that saying something is OP and needs to be nerfed is ridiculous. It’s mostly because of who is saying it(10-14 year old kids), but it also comes from the thing that anyone in the game can use that “overpowered” gun. It is also funny because most of the time it is not even the gun that is the actually problem; connect to the game, skill of both players, and how you engaged them is mostly what results in the “OP” guns.

    I disagree with your “First I want to let every one know that the term “nerf” should only be used to reference the toy company that produces plastic guns that shoot foam darts.” comment because the terms “nerf”, “overpowered”, “buff”, etc, are frequently used in mmo games and i feel they are useful terms in that game environment because of the patches and how quickly they come out with changes to the different characters, weapons, and skills.

    But yeah, your post is directed at CoD which I agree shouldn’t be using those terms since the “overpowered” guns change from time to time. I remember seeing everyone using the FAMAS, then it changed to the ak74.

    Your best bet is to stay away from the CoD forums. Too many little kids.

     

Leave a Reply

 
