RSS

My name is Viktor Reznov…

12 Nov

Ok so I’m going to be a little geek/fangirlish for a minute here while I talk about Victor Reznov.

SP Spoiler Alert (sort of)

Rumors were floating long before the release of Black Ops, that we would see the return of Viktor Reznov. If you are unfamiliar with him, chances are you didn’t play World at War.

Besides the fact that Reznov is voiced brilliantly by Gary Oldman, there are other reasons why I was so freakin excited to see his return in Black Ops.

There are only a handful of video game characters who really make a profound impact on me. Reznov makes my list. In Black Ops we find that he has been captured and taken to Vorkuta. Time behind those walls and bars did not dampen his spirit or his deep love for Mother Russia. He holds his homeland close to his heart and would do anything to protect it and it’s people.

There are some great values tucked away in Reznov’s story and the entire SP that I think too many people over look. There is more to a game than it’s MP. Personally I love a good story. Call of Duty Black Ops had an amazing one. Like a book that I couldn’t put down, I found myself hooked to this SP. So take some time away from pwning noObz and give the campaign a shot. It’s well worth it.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2010 in call of duty, Reviews

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “My name is Viktor Reznov…

  1. RK1 Apocalypse

    November 12, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Reznov is by far one of my fav characters from the CoD series. It seems like most of my “new” favs came from this game. Woods and Mason are amazing.

     
  2. Donncha O Caoimh

    November 13, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I knew I recognised that name!

     
  3. Caffeine Powered

    November 13, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I’m super gaytime for Woods.

     
  4. Victor Reznov

    November 17, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    My NAME is VICTOR!
    REZNOV!
    And I
    WILL HAVE
    MY REVENGE!!!

     
  5. Alex Mason

    November 24, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    i almost died when i learned he died at Vortuka

     
  6. Dan

    December 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    I love Victor Reznov. He is a great charecter. I loved it when you saw Dimitri Petrenko from Call of Duty:World at War. I like the story that goes along with Reznov & Mason.

    “MY NAME IS VICTOR REZNOV, AND I WILL HAVE MY REVENGE!!!”
    “Dragovich, Steiner, Kravechenko…all must die.”
    “We are brothers, Mason…we are the same.”

    -Mason “Reznov, your men must know that this is suicide.”
    -Reznov “Victory cannot be acheived without sacrifice, Mason. We Russians know this better than anyone.”

    -Reznov “Step 7, comrads!”
    -Prisoners “Raise Hell!”
    -Reznov “For Honor! For Vengance! For Russia!”
    -Prisoners “URA!!!”

    VICTOR REZNOV
    Birth Place: Stalingrad, Russia
    Death Place: Vorkuta, Russian USSR
    Age of Death: 50 years old

     
  7. koolkid 1212

    January 5, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    ive heard rumors that reznov didnt die. if unlock all the intel for the computer in the main lobby (campaign zombies multyplayer and settings ) and if u log in to huddson’s email acount he has emails from a strange never heard of character named john trench ( possibly reznov) and the emails say = tell mason that both of us will soon be free. and step 1: vorkuta. and many othere emails by this mystery character john trench.

     
  8. koolkid 1212

    January 5, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    and he faked the death and is using the name john trench… look this up on youtube

     
  9. Devante

    January 19, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    I agree with all of you reznov is a cool character but bowman
    dies the worst becuase he was black.But woods die heroicly.
    Still the best game ever.Hopefully they make another one!!!!

     
  10. Victor dmitri Reznov

    January 23, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    I am not to be discraced i did not die i snuck in to america i now live in ………. what u call bozton goodbye comrads

     
  11. Ice Cube

    March 4, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Haha, I simply love the Special Forces operator “Bowman”, the african-american guy.

    When you first encounter Woods and Bowman, at the Cuban bar with their contact “Carlos”, Bowman looks outside the window and says in an epic voice tone “Occupants leavin’ they vehicles – armed with shotguns!”

    And when they are at the missile launch (that Mason in the end sabotages with the Valkyrie rockets), they meet up with Bowman and another agent, long before they shoot down the missile. They steal the clothes of Russian privates, and Bowman and the other special operator must get two guards away from the door, and Bowman walks up to them, pretending to speak good russian and says “Una probliema” in a very african-american tone, and I simply love it!

    Also, when he is beaten to death by the Spetsnaz prison lord, and Mason shouts “Bowmaaan!”. Tears ran over my cheeks.

     
  12. me

    March 17, 2011 at 5:15 am

    he was dead all the time on black ops!:O! heheXD!

     
  13. Woods

    March 21, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Viktor reznov may be al ive check this video out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4tkHTYg-HYc

     
  14. richard

    May 9, 2011 at 10:49 am

    ey bro if u play ps3 my name online is lil-richard_619 add me i kno the true story of reznov and i kno the true weather hes real or fake hit me up

     
  15. leonard

    June 10, 2011 at 8:35 am

    viktor reznov was a real person if we all are intrested in him one day we should go to his old soviet union and ask about him my granpa was in world war two fighting beside the russians to defeat the germans he might have known a bit on viktor reznov sadly he passed away by cancer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
