RSS

First Thoughts: Fallout New Vegas

20 Oct

When I first popped the disk into my 360 and sat back in my chair and watched the opening cinematic I knew this game was going to blow me away. I got a warm fuzzy feeling when my very own Pip Boy was handed to me and I set out into this new wasteland.

Now I’ve only just barely scratched the surface of the many hours I plan to put into this game but I already love it. It has the same feel that I loved from Fallout 3. One big addition to this game is Hardcore mode. A little added stress to your journey but it has a 100g achievement/trophy in it for you if you survive the whole thing on Hardcore.

The major bullet points that make up Hardcore mode are that stimpacks will work over time instead of right away. Things like sleep and food deprivation will harm you along with dehydration.  You also must be choosey about your ammo since that will now carry a weight that will slow you down. So if you are looking for the extra gamerscore I recommend picking up the game guide to help you pick the best skills and customizations to get you through the wasteland.

A few players are coming across bugs in the game (besides the bloatflys of course). Take a chill pill if you do. This game is beyond huge. There are bound to be a few issues so sit tight and I’m sure it will get fixed. But for now check out this super creepy bug one player encountered right at the start.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ToKIkw3LIoQ

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2010 in Fallout

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “First Thoughts: Fallout New Vegas

  1. KAIZER SOSA

    October 20, 2010 at 10:52 am

    lol Nice write up and inclusion of the “exorcise” bug…

    I’m looking forward to romp through the Mojave as soon as I’m done with some other games.

    Hardcore should be fun…

     
  2. kraken

    October 20, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Hardcore sounds sick.

    And bugs and glitches happen in every game. You just have to look past them.

    Though I don’t have the game(yet), everything I keep hearing about it screams out that Fallout may be Game of the Year.

     

Leave a Reply

 
