RSS

You’re gunna need a bigger ban hammer

18 Oct

I said this back when MW2 first started getting out of hand. There is not enough being done about hackers/modders/jtaggers. I know that we have the Xbox Live Enforcement team but they are just not cutting it. Too many people out there are cheating the system and ruining everyone else’s gaming experience.

I know when I see a hacker I report them straight away. I troll the suspention/banning forum or I keep an eye on some gamertags to see if any action gets taken. Nine times out of ten nothing is done. Or if something is done it’s months after the infraction. What good is that? That player then has months and months to continue hacking? And usually I’m not the only one to file a complaint on said hacker.

WHY ISN’T MORE BEING DONE! XBL gamers pay for the service, why isn’t some of that money going to more policy enforcement? The bigger the 360 community gets the more idiots out there mod their consoles or hack their games.

I love my 360 but come on Microsoft, you can do better than this. Why are these people allowed to ruin games for everyone else?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2010 in General Gaming News, Xbox

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “You’re gunna need a bigger ban hammer

  1. Aled

    October 18, 2010 at 10:42 am

    I completely agree, will treyarch be able to deal with all the cheaters and boosters and jtag’ers? No.

    I think they need a dedicated team of around a 100 working non stop at ms to stop it. I’m afraid to say :/ but I have faith in treyarch,

    Now I know for a fact through sources cod5 was only hacked through der riese, at first. So I do think treyarch are capable but will they be able to deal with it? I don’t know.

     
  2. Jay Johnston

    October 18, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I’m with you on this one 100%. Whenever I see something strange or a colored gamertag in MW2, that person gets a complaint by me and my entire party. It’s sad that people have to do this, and I really hope that MS can get to the bottom of it. I never really saw this before MW2 and I think it was around then when it became popular among these people. I just hope that it stops. I’ve had hackers tell me that they will just create another account when that one gets banned, leading me to believe that they just have unlimited accounts. It really makes me mad!

     
  3. taco

    October 18, 2010 at 11:05 am

    fixing a GT to have the options we should have been allotted in the first place anyway isn’t a big deal or done by hackers….there was a handful of programs that noted GT could be manipulated like they could be in COD 4….so in closing, to call some kid that downloads a prog and clicks a few buttons, then puts it on his usb drive, then copies it to his HD is mislead at best….now the programmers that found the code to do so and then wrote the programs to allow people to be able to do so….my friends; is the real problem and there is really no way of stopping them…..do yourself a favor and JBO if you find a match that doesn’t work for you, or is hacked and be done with it…..all this whining makes for a very unhappy taco…….and we all love tacos…..so don’t piss me off or your next taco will be filled with rat brains.

     
    • bowski477

      October 18, 2010 at 11:26 am

      You are not looking at the bigger picture. The people who go though a process like that are people who most likely do more than just “hack” their GTs. Yes I do usually back out in those circumstances but not before filing a complaint on the hacker.

       
  4. taco

    October 18, 2010 at 11:31 am

    i am one of those people who “hacked’ their GT and only my GT….I’m not gonna go buy some wires to be able to cheat at a game that isn’t supposed to be able to be cheated on…..the Gt thing just makes my name look better….but i understand where everyone is coming from by saying that….not even if everyone else is doing it

     
  5. bowski477

    October 18, 2010 at 11:57 am

    The point is, if it’s not available by normal means you shouldn’t be doing it. And “making your name look better” is a lame reason to go through all that process and then risk getting banned.

     
  6. Aled

    October 18, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    exactly,

    for instance: your not allowed to rob a bank, but I need money so i’ll rob a bank.
    Even though i’m not allowed to, i’ll do it, because I need the money.

    it’s the same as your not allowed to mod your Gt in the same way your not allowed to rob a bank xD

    I think this analogy is a bit extreme but it’s the same thing really in principle.

     
  7. The Dude

    October 18, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    It comes down to money. Last November, Microsoft banned over a million consoles, not accounts. If they were truly concerned with cheaters and hackers and pirates (Oh My!), they would have banned accounts as well.

    I know this first hand as I have a modded xbox myself (Currently been wandering the wastes of New Vegas for the past three days) and I was banned last year. The result? I bought a new box and am back on Live. Don’t get the wrong idea, I still but games. I will be picking up my real copy of New Vegas tomorrow and will be placing a preorder for Black Ops. I mostly pirate the games I’m on the fence about, or old games that I wanted to play, but never got around to picking up.

    Back to the point about money. Last November Microsoft outsold PS3 by roughly 250,000 units. Since people’s systems were banned and not their accounts, they could just buy a new system, plug in their HDD, and they were good to go. Wal-Mart even has a deal on arcade systems, buy one and get $100 Wal-mart gift card … so you knew they knew what was going down. There are some people out there that spend $200 a year on xboxes and $0 on games, getting banned every year. I’m happy with the result I’ve got going on. If I want to play a solo game that I’m sure I don’t think is worth $60, I’ll play it on my banned box (Fable I’m looking at you!). But if I want to interact with the community (MW2, Black Ops), or if I believe the game IS worth the money (Fallout), I’ll shell out the dough.

     
  8. David Spira

    October 19, 2010 at 12:42 am

    Not to split hairs, but some unskilled punk running a downloaded script isn’t a hacker, and calling them one is giving them far too much credit.

    That being said, I agree that enforcement is very weak, and some of these jerks really do ruin games.

    I don’t understand the motivation. If you have to break the rules, you aren’t good at the game. High stats that are unearned are completely hollow.

     
  9. OMG HUGZ

    October 19, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    I am for harsh punishments for those who mod online….but no matter how much we want it gone…it’s not going anywhere. My main argument in this instance…the AllMighty C.I.A. gets hacked on a daily basis…so we cant expect to stop video games from being hacked. I’ve learned to deal with it…as long as no one steals my information, I will keep having fun.

     

Leave a Reply

 
