RSS

Black Ops with Optional 3D

05 Oct

Those who are avid readers of this blog are familiar with my views on 3D gaming. To put it nicely I don’t think that 3D anything belongs in video games for so many different reasons. But I’ve ranted this all before.

Today we heard from Activision that Call of Duty Black Ops will ship Nov. 9th with 3D compatibility for all platforms. See video below…

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_ZJq4e8agM

I was happy to hear that 3D in Black Ops can be toggled on and off. It’s not a totally separate game you have to buy if you  have the means to play in 3D (i.e. super expensive 3D TV with the super expensive shutter 3D glasses).

That’s how I feel 3D gaming should play out. As an option. It should not be something all gamers should have to conform to. But as 3D gaming is pushed more I worry that there will be no options and 3D is all you get. And I see that happening sooner rather than later unfortunately.

Anyways, some FAQs about this new announcement have been posted at the official Call of Duty Black Ops website. Check out callofduty.com/3D.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2010 in 3D, call of duty

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Black Ops with Optional 3D

  1. Telixion

    October 5, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    I think its cool they are putting it into the game. But I have a feeling I will never be using it. And will NEVER buy a 3d tv just for the effect. But still cool its an option!

     
  2. bowski477

    October 5, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    I agree. I love the fact that it’s an option for people who have the TV or are getting one. But until I literally have no other choice, I won’t be buying a 3D TV anytime soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
