RSS

First Thoughts: Black Ops MP Trailer

09 Aug

While it does look epic I do have some concerns, but first check it out for yourself.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_fsM6LBi54

Now before I start I just want to say that I am aware that you cannot judge a game by it’s teaser trailer. I also want to make sure everyone knows that I am not a MW2 hater. I just have a love/hate relationship with it and would take WaW over it any day of the week. I like it but think it was overhyped and didn’t deliver. But I still enjoy playing it occasionally with a few good friends.

Now on to business. My first concern is that it has a MW2 look to it. Which could be good a good and a bad thing. The reason this concerns me is because of the bad experiences I have had with MW2. That is most likely why I have a biased view against MW2 in general.

On a similar thought, if Black Ops plans to release a beta it could avoid most of the major issues that have caused my love/hate relationship towards MW2. Notice how i say most, not all. There are always bound to be glitches and idiots who exploit them. But a beta can help tremendously in that area. As I have stated in past rantings, big releases such as any Halo or COD title should have a beta. There are just so many people playing that the potential for issues will be found and exploited right away.

Next thing that bothered me was the killstreaks. I was really crossing my fingers for fixed 3, 5, and 7 killstreaks. Wishful thinking methinks. But that doesn’t totally ruin things as long as a barebones playlist is an option. That will keep me happy.

This of course is only the first MP trailer, and while it didn’t “wow” me they way I wanted, it still got me excited for November. I still have faith that Treyarch will deliver with this game.

I really want to hear other’s opinions on this one. First thoughts?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2010 in call of duty

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “First Thoughts: Black Ops MP Trailer

  1. CovertGunman

    August 9, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    I’d have to agree with you on all of those but I think that if anything you should not try to compare it to either WaW or MW2. Instead you should try to look at it as a single game as if it’s a brand new game and not a sequel. I don’t know, it might just give you a different perspective on it. 😀

     
  2. KAIZER SOSA

    August 9, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    I have my slight concerns about it as well, but everyone is entitled to their own perceptions.

    I like that fact that you are honest YET respectful on your call about it. Unfortunately coming back online a couple of hours later and witnessing the majority of other’s judgement on this trailer was a “shaking my head” experience.

    Good write up…

     
  3. JamesMcCarron

    August 10, 2010 at 10:01 am

    My first impression of the trailer is that of why it looks as modern as Mw2 even though its set 30 – 40 years before it. Cod Waw was great because it was authentic, you felt you were indeed playing in the 1940’s, this is too clean and too bright. The Cold War era was dark, cold and gruesome, none of which is very visable in the trailers. And why in this game do the soldiers have cameras and rc cars, shouldnt they have these in Mw2 if they were avaible during the cold war… And why why why did they keep the ability to put on a 3, 4 and 5 killstreak?! They must be promoting rubbish gameplay. And do we need the ability to record kills? This just means that youtube will be swamped by Cod:bo kills. Please treyarch, please restore my faith in this game, please have some amazing co-op mode, similar to zombies except way way way better. please, or i fear i will be buying medal of honour and new vegas and final fantasy 14 instead

     
  4. Caffeine Powered

    August 10, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Jilly, as I toldja, I’m fear too uncultured when it comes to the CoD series, so I don’t really feel qualified to judge it within the scheme of the entire series.

    That said, the video standing alone got me totally jacked up to play some CoD: Black Ops with ya.

     
  5. Kraken

    August 14, 2010 at 7:17 am

    I was amazed at how much like MW2 this trailer was. I’m pretty sure treyarch did the same thing they did with WaW, aka use the previous game’sengine(CoD4’s engine with WaW), that is probably why the teaser reminds you of MW2. I am very very happy to see that a zombies gametype is returning to the game. For me, Nazi zombies was the only thing I liked about WaW.

    Everything else in the trailer is typical CoD. Show off new weapons(crossbow and that knife that was shot) and some new kill streaks(RC and camera). By the way, that “sentry gun” like camera kill streak looks interesting.

    Addressing the killstreak thing that was said. I prefer the choose your own streaks, but they need to be better balanced. Getting four kills should not give you a chance at a chopper gunner.

    @the guy who said something about the recording feature swamping youtube, Don’t we already have that with MW2? There are probably thousands of videos titled “EPIC QUICKSCOPE” or “MW2 clutch ninja defuse”. Hopefully with the recording function, people who don’t want to dish out money for a recording device can upload original videos.

    Since the game will be coming out in like 2-3 months, a beta would have to come out soon if they are going to have one. A beta would help get rid of the glitches as the OP said, but hopefully it could help get rid of those “bad” perks.

    Let’s just hope we don’t see juggernaut return. Or One Man Army/Scavenger for those grenade launchers.

    In before posting, the game type “War” better be returning. It is by far one of the more fun game types to play imo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
