RSS

Nintendo Announces 3DS

15 Jun

Another non-surprise for E3, Nintendo shows off the 3Ds. But very different that expected.

Via G4.com

It has a wider top screen: a 3.5 inch wide display,

includes a slider control to choose the degree of 3D, from “none” to “all.”

Improved graphics capability from the current generation of DS.

Will feature a “slide pad” controller.

Contains motion and gyro sensors.

Compatible with Nintendo DSi.

Two camera lenses on the outside allows you to take photos and view in 3D!

Capable of displaying 3D Hollywood movies. No titles yet, but Disney, WB and Dreamworks will have trailers on the thing.

WI-fi compatible. No monthly fee for online.

All of that without the need for 3D glasses. Now I’ve never been a fan of the idea of 3D gaming but this thing looks pretty sweet. Also you can control “how 3D” you want your experience. Defiantly a plus for those of us anti-3D players.

Honestly the technology put into this new DS has me eating my words from previous posts. Clearly this is not the same old DS re-done with 3D. Nintendo clearly put everything they had into this new handheld and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2010 in E3, nintendo ds

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Nintendo Announces 3DS

  1. Jay Johnston

    June 15, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I’m with you on not really feeling 3-D in everything these days, but if I were to back the technology, it would definitely be in this form as a handheld product. I also trust that Nintendo has engineered it well. I don’t understand what is meant by “Compatible with the DSi”…I assume this means that they can communicate via wireless with each other, but not with the standard DS? Can Pictochat between just 3DS/DSi be performed? Anyways, both the 3DS/Kid Icarus as well as Kinect/Dance Party will be Day 1 purchases by me. My wife went crazy for the Dance Party video!

     
  2. Jay Johnston

    June 15, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Okay, so I guess it’s called Dance Central, not Dance Party…..my bad….it’ll be a Dance Party in my house though! I’ll be the geeky one with the thumbs.

     

Leave a Reply

 
