RSS

Nintendo + E3 = 3DSi

02 Jun

Another no brainer. Rumors have been swirling for months now about the next handheld product from Nintendo being a 3D version of the DSi. Today Japan gets a few new colors for it’s DSi XL along with a slash in the price.

Via kotaku.com

In conjunction with the new range of consoles, the DSi XL (or DSi LL as it’s known there) will have its price cut in Japan from ¥20,000 (USD$220) to ¥18,000 (USD$195). The DSi will also see a drop, from ¥18,900 (USD$200) to ¥15,000 (USD$165). And the DS Lite? It’s recommended price goes from ¥16,800 to whatever the hell retailers want to charge, so they can clear out their stock.

This is obviously to make way for the new console. Can’t have to old models cluttering up the shelves when the shiny new one comes out.

I am undecided about the 3DSi. I of course hate the idea of 3D gaming. I have always felt 3D is a cheesy lack luster effect that people often mistake for awesomeness.

But I heard a rumor that the 3D effect on the new 3DSi will be able to toggle on and off. But if the 3D effect is the only new addition to this same old handheld then I’m pretty sure I will save my money.

As will all of these rumors, it’s wait and see for E3.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2010 in 3D, E3, nintendo ds

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Nintendo + E3 = 3DSi

  1. Jay Johnston

    June 2, 2010 at 10:22 am

    I’m looking forward to it. I’ll buy the new DS no matter what. I am skipping the DSXL but currently own 5 DS’s, and am very excited for the 3D one, though I, as you, don’t really like 3D all that much. I have faith that Nintendo knows what they are doing with it, so even if the release games are few and far between, they will make some stellar titles for it. Also, you’ll be buying it as soon as the first Pokemon 3D comes out 🙂

     
  2. bowski477

    June 2, 2010 at 10:31 am

    You are right of course, Pokemon 3D is defiantly something I would invest in 🙂 and I agree, Nintendo usually knows what they’re doing when it comes to it’s handhelds and I’m looking forward to seeing what they bring to E3.

     
  3. mia

    April 20, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    im looking forward to the 3ds but me and my mom hab been discusing it and weve bolth agreed that it will do no good for the eyes, even if ive showed her better uses for the 3ds and… i think if the 3d is off it will be ok,and if its the newest thing good things about the owner who has it will be popinng out of the nowere but the latest thing may make you look cool but i dont know if i should buy it or not ill think about the good things it does but i should watch out for the 3d tentation. Pretty cool i dont think once in a wile will do any bad. 🙂

     
  4. Elaine Johnson

    April 21, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Can old DS games be played on the new 3DSi system?

     
    • bowski477

      April 21, 2011 at 11:37 pm

      Yes

       

Leave a Reply

 
