RSS

Stay out of my games 3D

26 Apr

I know I’ve touched on this subject before but it really does touch a nerve with me. There are countless reasons why 3D needs to stay out of video games. The first being that 3D itself is a novelty! It does not enhance game play or movies, it’s just another tagline on your advertisement. Popular movies like Avatar and Clash of the Titans made it to number one at the box office partially because you could see it in 3D. 3D sells. Period. End of story.

Next on my list of “I think 3D should stay out of gaming” is cheesy 3D effects. This goes side by side with “does not enhance gameplay”. If I’m going to spend $60 on a game, I want it to “wow” me. I don’t want lame action scenes created only to have things flying at you in 3D. That’s amusing for about five seconds to a 10 year old. I fear the 3D will only bring about said lame actions scenes and crappy games will be on the rise.

And what about the price of those special shutter 3D glasses . These are not the cheap kind you toss after the movie. These bad boys are well up over $100 depending on the brand. Not the kind of money I have laying around for a pair of uncomfortable glasses that I’ll want to rip of my face after 30 minutes.

So 3D gaming supporters my challenge to you is to convince me. Why should I be looking forward to the day 3D gaming invades my experience?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2010 in 3D, ps3, Xbox

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Stay out of my games 3D

  1. Not Telling

    April 26, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    It really isn’t that big a deal, i’m sure there are considerably more important things to worry about than 3D effects in games. Besides, it is a part of the future of the industry, however big or small it might end up becoming.

    Adapt, embrace or get left behind.

     
  2. bowski477

    April 26, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    You of course have a right to you’re own opinion but…

    Anything that’s going to put the consumer out over $100 is a pretty big deal.

    Just because it’s the next logical step in the industry doesn’t mean it’s a good decision. There are plenty of games out there in development that will never need 3D to sell. They are awesome just the way they are. If movie directors and game developers feel that they need to fall back on 3D to sell their products, then well the future looks pretty bleak to me.

     
  3. David Spira

    April 26, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    For me to purchase a 3D game it needs to be incredible, and the 3D must either be necessary for that awesome experience, or have an “off switch.”

    I didn’t play first person shooters for years because they were choppy and made me motion-sick. I don’t need 3D games either.

    I’m with you, novelty does not necessarily equal good design.

     

Leave a Reply

 
