RSS

Newer isn’t always better

22 Jan

It’s time for me to play devil’s advocate. Now before you get your boxers in a bunch, I am a fan of both Modern Warfare 2 and World at War.

There was a collective groan from Call of Duty gamers the day it was announced that after the great success of the first Modern Warfare, they had decided to return to World War II for the next game. How could Treyarch ignore the cries for another modern shooter game? It was a question that spammed forums everywhere.

Despite the many complaints from gamers everywhere, the game sold well over $1 million copies in its first month. I myself waited for reviews to come out before shelling out my $60. When I did get my hands on the game, I fell in love with it. As usual I glued myself to that one game for months, leaving all others to collect dust. Sure I missed the modern weapons of COD4 but the older weapons gave me more of a challenge.

Now we come to Modern Warfare 2. I swear I was going to explode with excitement during the last few days leading up to the release. The campaign story blew me away as did all the new perks and features of the multiplayer. But we soon were bombarded by glitchers and boosters looking for quick ways to rank up and annoy other players.

World at War had its share of problems don’t get me wrong but the fixes were quick and clean. Not only that but WaW had a public beta in which I’m sure many things were caught and fixed before the actual release. MW2 did have a beta but it was privately tested. I think that many of the issues we are seeing could have been fixed before the release had there been public testing.

The bottom line here is Call of Duty is an amazing game series. Modern Warfare 2 tried to give us so much at one time. I feel that maybe it was too much. Today I played WaW for the first time in months. I missed the simplicity of 3 set killstreaks and players actually caring about the objectives in game. I love both games but sometimes I might just pick up WaW over MW2.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2010 in call of duty, Xbox

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
