RSS

The Xbox Nightmare

08 Oct

Most Xbox 360 owners know and have heard horrible tales of the Red Ring of Death. After every story they hope and pray it will never happen to them. But like most things, no one is immune most are just lucky.

I came home after a busy night at work. I took a hot shower and sat down i front of my TV. I grabbed my Xbox controller and hit the power button. My computer was on so I turned to check my email while my box started up. A minute went by when I realized I hadn’t heard the familiar Xbox noises. I turned around to an awful sight. Three flashing red lights. The Xbox owner’s worst nightmare.

This is my first RROD. I suppose I should be grateful as some people are on their 4th or 5th Xbox. To those who are unfamiliar with what this terrible thing is let me explain the basics. Three flashing red lights appear where there should be green. It means there is a hardware problem and you have no choice but to send it away for repairs. The one good thing is that this repair is usually covered by Microsoft and you pay nothing. The worst part is that you are without Xbox from anywhere from 2 to 4 weeks.

This hardware problem has decreased since the first generation 360s but it is still there. It looms over the heads of every gamer.

I know that Xbox should not be the center of my or anyones world but it is at the top of my hobby list. The point is, this should not be happening.

Before I was on Microsoft’s side I was once with Sony and had a PlayStation 2. I inherited it from my brother after he moved out. We had that console for about 7-8 years before I traded it in. It never had a single problem with it and even when I sold it, it was in prime working condition. That is how a console should be. It should be built to last about 10 years which is usually the turnaround time for another console generation. I am sure that there might be some original Xbox 360’s out there going strong but I highly doubt it.

So now I am without Xbox for 2-4 weeks. The last thing I did was play “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” on Beatles Rockband. Hmmmm.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2009 in Xbox

 

Leave a Reply

 
